Skip to content

The Missing Piece: FASD's Hidden Impact on Problematic Sexual Behaviors

The Missing Piece: FASD's Hidden Impact on Problematic Sexual Behaviors

Friday, April 26, 2024 (10:00 AM - 1:00 PM) (CDT)

Description

SUMMARY: In this webinar, leading Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) experts, Jacqueline Pei, R. Psych, PhD, and Dorothy Reid, MA, will provide information on the strengths and challenges associated with FASD focusing specifically on what makes FASD a unique disability, and implications for practice within justice settings with a particular focus on addressing problematic or inappropriate sexual behavior. Current strategies and emerging research for screening, diagnosis and intervention will be reviewed.


IN-DEPTH: Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) is a diagnostic term used to describe the presence of brain and body-based differences due to prenatal alcohol exposure. One of the most common, yet often underrecognized disabilities, it is estimated that FASD affects approximately 4% of the general population. Although early diagnosis is highlighted as a protective factor, contributing to improved outcomes, this is often not available for individuals and families. Moreover, FASD informed approaches to service delivery and intervention are not consistently available. Failure to provide well-suited support, early in life, has been identified as one reason why individuals with FASD are significantly over-represented in the justice system. Establishing a shared understanding, within systems of support and amongst clinicians, service providers and support networks provides a possible way forward. 

The causal pathways of FASD are multi-faceted, involving genetic and biological, behavioral, interpersonal, sociocultural, and historical factors. Individuals with FASD have complex behavioral and cognitive problems that persist throughout the lifespan, and an increased likelihood of experiencing environmental adversity. Combined, these biological and social factors elevate susceptibility and exposure to behaviors of concern, and in particular to problematic or inappropriate sexual behaviors either as a perpetrator, victim or witness. The unique nature of this disorder provides significant challenges for intervenors and treatment providers, and if not appropriately addressed, may negatively affect treatment outcomes.

The presenters will engage attendees in discussions regarding strategies and resources that may be incorporated, or adapted within service delivery activities, with an emphasis on ways to work with individual strengths - of both the practitioner and the client. This discussion will also extend to consideration of outcome measurement and monitoring in keeping with recommendations for best practice.

(This webinar will not be recorded.)

This program is Approved by the National Association of Social Workers (Approval # 886517002-1014) for 3 continuing education contact hours.

ATSA Webinar Series Sponsor


Pricing

$75 (USD) Members
$125 (USD) Prospective Members

Includes 3 CE Credits.

Cancellations: refunds will be given 48 hours prior to the event start time, minus a $10 administration fee. No refunds after April 24th.

Online- Zoom

Please watch for a registration confirmation that includes the link to attend.

In addition to the email you will receive upon registration, you will also receive a reminder email 48 hours prior to the webinar, as well as one hour prior to the start of the webinar.

Event Contact
Jane Algiers
Send Email
Friday, April 26, 2024 (10:00 AM - 1:00 PM) (CDT)

10 a.m.-1 p.m. CST
8 a.m.-11 a.m. PST
9 a.m.-12 p.m. MST
11 a.m.-2 p.m. EST
3 p.m.-6 p.m. GMT

Registered Guests
85
Powered By GrowthZone
Scroll To Top